store | blogs | forums | twitter | facebook | wiki | downloads | support portal
Atomic Secure Linux
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 2:22 am

» Feed - Atomicorp

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Configuring atomic-psa with FC2
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 10:02 am 
Hello Scot,

I just had a hard disk crash and used this to upgrade a few things on my server. I used to be RH9/Plesk602 (with your YUM upgrades for PHP and MySQL), and now I'm FC2 and Plesk714. So I'm back to the Turtle to get my MySQL back up to 4.x from 3.23.58-9 The MySQL page mentions that FC2 is covered but the info on configuring YUM/UP2DATE doesn't mention FC2. FC1 and 3ES are mentioned and I think that the same method should work for FC2. I checked, and the URL with CHANGEME replaced with a 2 does exist, but I thought I'd make sure first.

Thanks for the RPMs and any info.

Paul


http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/modul ... =18&page=1

For up2date configurations (FC1, 3ES) modify your /etc/sysconfig/rhn/sources file, replacing CHANGEME with 3ES for 3ES systems, and 1 for FC1 systems:

# THIS CONTAINS MY PSA COMPATIBLE RPMS
yum atomic-psa http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/psa/CHANGEME/


# THIS CONTAINS ONLY SW-SOFT's PSA 7.0.x RPMS.
# USE THIS CHANNEL IF YOU USE PSA 7.0.x
yum atomic-psa7 http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/psa7/CHANGEME/


# THIS CONTAINS ONLY SW-SOFT's PSA 7.1.x RPMS
# USE THIS CHANNEL IF YOU USE PSA 7.1.x
yum atomic-psa71 http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomi ... /CHANGEME/


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:35 am 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7913
Location: earth
you can just use yum with FC2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:53 am 
scott wrote:
you can just use yum with FC2


So I would just update /etc/yum.conf with
Code:
# THIS CONTAINS  MY PSA COMPATIBLE RPMS
[atomic-psa]
name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - Atomic PSA
baseurl=ftp://ftp.shinn.net/pub/Linux/atomic/psa/$releasever/
baseurl=http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/psa/$releasever/
baseurl=http://shinn.net/pub/Linux/atomic/psa/$releasever/
 


and the $releasever dynamic substitution will take care of getting the correct version

or do you mean that the default mysql 4 RPMs are now safe to use with PSA since they updated that conflicting variable.

Thanks,

Paul


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:59 am 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7913
Location: earth
yep, $releasever is an internal yum variable for determining the distribution type, the same functionality does not exist in up2date which is why you have to set it manually. The Mysql rpms I distribute have always been PSA compatible, you should be able to upgrade everything (php, mysql, etc) with a simple "yum update"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2004 12:29 pm 
scott wrote:
yep, $releasever is an internal yum variable for determining the distribution type, the same functionality does not exist in up2date which is why you have to set it manually. The Mysql rpms I distribute have always been PSA compatible, you should be able to upgrade everything (php, mysql, etc) with a simple "yum update"


Thanks for the info and quick responses. If only all support was this quick and acurate :) I knew your RPMs would be compat with PSA, but wasn't sure when you said just use YUM if you meant as shipped (with out your versions), would also work. I didn't think so but wanted to make sure.

Now I can go back to mysql4 and get back a bit funtionality that required it.

Paul


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:18 pm 
OK its probably going to be something obvious I've missed but I am having a problem doing the YUM for MySQL. I inserted the control statements to /etc/yum.conf for ART but YUM seems unhappy

First I did a YUM SEARCH MYSQL (as a normal user)to look things over and YUM complained with

Code:
-bash2-2.05b$ yum search mysql
Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
Server: Atomic Rocket Turtle - 2 - Atomic PSA
Error - /var/cache/yum/atomic-psa/header.info cannot be found
Please ask your sysadmin to update the headers on this system.


I thought that maybe since atomic was new on my system it needed auth to allocate this file so I tried again and tried reloading the headers as root and got
Code:
[root@localhost mysystem.net]# yum clean headers
Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
Server: Atomic Rocket Turtle - 2 - Atomic PSA
Error - /var/cache/yum/atomic-psa/header.info cannot be found
Please run yum in non-caching mode to correct this header.


OK maybe it wants everything totaly clean, so I then got:
Code:
[root@localhost mysystem.net]# yum clean all
Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
Server: Atomic Rocket Turtle - 2 - Atomic PSA
Error - /var/cache/yum/atomic-psa/header.info cannot be found
Please run yum in non-caching mode to correct this header.
[root@localhost mysystem.net]#


my /etc/yum.conf with domian names masked and exrtra comment lines at bottom removed is:
Code:
[main]
cachedir=/var/cache/yum
debuglevel=2
logfile=/var/log/yum.log
pkgpolicy=newest
distroverpkg=fedora-release
tolerant=1
exactarch=1

# THIS CONTAINS MY PSA COMPATIBLE RPMS
[atomic-psa]
name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - Atomic PSA
baseurl=ftp://ftp.shinn.net/pub/Linux/atomic/psa/$releasever/
baseurl=http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/psa/$releasever/
baseurl=http://shinn.net/pub/Linux/atomic/psa/$releasever/
 
[base]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch - Base
baseurl=http://ftp.MYISP.net/fedora/core/$releasever/i386/os


OK so after doing the commands I thought were suppossed to fix the headers I tried one that would read them but had no hopes of it loading them so... of course it seems that it did. I tried YUM LIST and that forced the header info to be fixed and now my search command works with no complaints. Am I missing something or is this thing just funky??

It lloks like it should be safe to go forward with my YUM INSTALL MYSQL since a trial download-only run came back with the correct files from the correct place (Release: 2.rhfc2.art)

Thanks

Paul


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:21 pm 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7913
Location: earth
Those are some pretty ancient channel settings there. Take a look at the downloads link for the latest


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:40 pm 
scott wrote:
Those are some pretty ancient channel settings there. Take a look at the downloads link for the latest


I got those (the ancients) from the projects area. From the downloads area you mention these look like the best match since I am running Plesk714 on FC2.

Code:
# THIS CHANNEL CONTAINS MY PSA COMPATIBLE RPMS (php, mysql, qmail-scanner, etc)
[atomic]
name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - Atomic PSA-Compatible RPMS
baseurl=http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/art/$releasever/
baseurl=http://archive.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/art/$releasever/
baseurl=http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/art/$releasever/

[app-vault]
name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - App Vault RPMS
baseurl=http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/app-vault/
baseurl=http://archive.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/app-vault/
baseurl=http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/app-vault/

[psa-7.1]
name=Atomic Rocket Turtle - $releasever - SW-Soft PSA 7.1 RPMS
baseurl=http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/psa-7.1/$releasever/
baseurl=http://archive.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/psa-7.1/$releasever/
baseurl=http://www.atomicrocketturtle.com/atomic/psa-7.1/$releasever/



I am assuming that your base and updates libraries are the default distributions and not locally modified and so using my local copies should be fine.

Paul


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:51 pm 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7913
Location: earth
yeah base and updates are fedora, fedoralegacy, and whitebox (3ES) mirrors


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 5:03 pm 
scott wrote:
yeah base and updates are fedora, fedoralegacy, and whitebox (3ES) mirrors


Thanks again

Paul


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:16 pm 
Did the upgrade ... Things were basically smooth. Had to give MySQL a kick to get it going the first time but fine since.

added your performace parms and one more for the DB I have to load

Code:
query_cache_type=1
query_cache_size=10m
max_allowed_packet=16M


Thanks again


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:55 pm 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7913
Location: earth
10M is just a base, I recommend that you keep an eye on it from within mysql (show status) if you see a lot of lowmem prunes or the free mem for the cache drop below a meg a lot you might need to increase it. Bare in mind when you do, that you're robbing other apps like apache, and spamassassin of resources when you do. (theres no such thing as a free lunch!)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

» Feed - Atomicorp

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group