store | blogs | forums | twitter | facebook | wiki | downloads | support portal
Atomic Secure Linux
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:01 pm

» Feed - Atomicorp

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 108 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Updated Patch
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:49 pm 
Offline
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:30 am
Posts: 2812
Location: The Netherlands
jas8522 wrote:
We updated from 5.1 to 5.2.5 directly so we don't have the 5.2.4 RPM's ... anyone know of a simple way to roll back to 5.2.4? Must I rpm -e all php RPM's then download all of the 5.2.4 ones individually and install them?


No need to remove PHP, you can use rpm -Uvh --oldpackage to 'upgrade' to older packages. There are no PHP <5.2.5 packages in the atomic channel anymore though.

You can get the spec files for older versions at http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/packages/php/ and build the rpms yourself though.

_________________
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:57 am 
Offline
Forum User
Forum User

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:02 pm
Posts: 43
Scott... any chance of getting that new patch included in an update?

http://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=43677&thanks=6

Jordan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Use PHP4 for Horde along side PHP 5.2.5 for everything else.
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:50 pm 
Offline
New Forum User
New Forum User

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:16 pm
Posts: 1
I'm kind of tethered to Modernbill right now so upgrading to Plesk8 introduces a whole host of issues. The only issue I have with php5.2.5 is Horde. So after many different "fixes" that didn't completely work this is the one that worked best.

Download and uncompress source:
Code:
cd /usr/src/
wget http://us2.php.net/distributions/php-4.4.7.tar.gz
tar xvzf php-4.4.7.tar.gz
cd  php-4.4.7/

Now configure and resolve any dependencies:
Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr/local/php4 --bindir=/usr/bin --sbindir=/usr/sbin --sysconfdir=/etc --datadir=/usr/share --includedir=/usr/include --libdir=/usr/lib --libexecdir=/usr/libexec --with-libdir=lib --with-config-file-path=/usr/local/php4/lib --with-pic --disable-rpath --with-exec-dir=/usr/bin --with-png-dir=/usr --enable-gd-native-ttf --without-gdbm --with-gettext --with-iconv --with-jpeg-dir=/usr --with-png --with-zlib --enable-exif --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --enable-trans-sid --enable-yp --enable-wddx --with-pear=/usr/share/pear --enable-calendar --with-libxml-dir=/usr --with-xml --enable-force-cgi-redirect --enable-pcntl --enable-mbstring --enable-mbregex --with-ncurses --with-gd --enable-bcmath --with-xmlrpc --with-mysql --with-mysqli --enable-dom --with-xsl --enable-fastcgi --program-suffix=4 --with-expat-dir=/usr --with-ldap=shared --with-imap --with-imap-ssl=/usr/include/openssl --with-kerberos

Compile and install php4:
Code:
make
make install

Check if the modules are installed properly with php4:
Code:
/usr/local/php4/bin/php -m

If not check the following binaries
Code:
 ./sapi/cgi/php -m

Copy them over if needed:
Code:
cp -rf ./sapi/cgi/php /usr/local/php4/bin/

Setup directories for apache:
Code:
mkdir -pv /etc/httpd/cgi-sys/
cp -rf ./sapi/cgi/php /etc/httpd/cgi-sys/
cp -rf php.ini-recommended  /usr/local/php4/lib/php.ini


Create this file /etc/httpd/conf.d/zz050a_horde_php_workaround.conf and insert the following:
Code:
<DirectoryMatch /usr/share/psa-horde>
        AddHandler application/x-httpd-php4 .php
        php_value include_path "/usr/share/psa-horde/lib:/usr/share/psa-horde:/usr/share/psa-horde/pear:."
</DirectoryMatch>

Modify Horde to work with CGI version of PHP:
Code:
vi /etc/psa-horde/imp/servers.php

Go to line 206 and edit to look like this:
Code:
// get hostname from http URL (patch for Plesk)
#$headers = getallheaders();
$ServerName = preg_replace('/^webmail\./', '', preg_replace('/^www\./', '', $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']));

Now the installation is finished, restart Apache and test Horde.

http://webmail.domain.com/test.php

It should list your version of php as 4. Now test your webmail and you should be able to log in rather then see a white page.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:42 am 
Offline
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:55 pm
Posts: 672
There's an easier fix still.

1. Make certain php-pear is installed
Code:
#rpm -q php-pear


2. Edit /etc/php.ini and change the following line
Code:
include_path = ".:"

to
Code:
include_path = ".:/usr/share/pear"


3. Restart Apache
Code:
#apachectl graceful


Not the best of solutions but it works. One possible caveat: I have open_basedir set to none on my main email domains so I do not know if that would interfere with this. But I haven't had to hack any Apache files to make Horde work again under 5.2.5-4

As a side note someone from php.net responded to the bug list today so maybe there's hope of an offical build soon...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:24 pm 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7943
Location: earth
I havent run into any issues with php_admin_value open_basedir, so you're probably OK there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:13 pm 
Offline
Forum User
Forum User

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:02 pm
Posts: 43
This problem affects those who are attempting to use register_globals 1 when it is disabled globally - it switches between on and off seemingly random at page loads.

It also affects the use of include_dir in htaccess files. Since we have display_errors disabled globally as these sites are all live, and the include_dir value switches back and forth between custom values and the global vlaue, pages randomly show blank white when the page is loaded

This is really not good, as we have a number of customers with specific include directories specified that continue to flash between their site and a blank white page!

Is there any chance of getting that new patch applied? The PHP dev team appears to not care too much that this problem exists based on the comments in that ticket.

Thanks,

Jordan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 12:39 am 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7943
Location: earth
Its on my list, but to be honest I have so much other work ahead of it right now I don't see getting to it any time soon. The last time I did it, I had a near catastrophe on my hands. :P This is the kind of thing that needs a lot of testing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: can we just get the old rpms?
Unread postPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:57 pm 
Offline
Forum User
Forum User

Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 4:05 pm
Posts: 9
Location: TN
Scott,

From what I gather, the easiest fix for this is to go back to 5.2.4...So can you just put up the old RPMs for us to grab? I tend to break things when I don't use your RPMs. If you can't put them back up, can anyone share their 5.2.4 RPMs so I can get rid of this daily headache?

TIA,
Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:04 am 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7943
Location: earth
the src.rpm is here: http://3es.atomicrocketturtle.com/packages/php/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: How I successfully rolledback php
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:48 pm 
Offline
New Forum User
New Forum User

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:39 pm
Posts: 1
Thank you all for posting and helping. I was baffled and was able to successfully rollback my php version to one prior to php 5.2.5 which solves the php_admin_value issues altogether. This is what I did:

Code:
# cd /var/cache/yum/atomic
# rpm -Uvh --oldpackage php*[package version prior to 5.2.5 (must be in /var/cache/yum/atomic)]*
# /etc/init.d/httpd stop
# /etc/init.d/httpd start



* Notes: My plesk software version is 8.3.0, in case anyone wants to know.
** Notes: I had php-5.2.3 on my machine from previous upgrades.

After this all broken sites as well as horde webmail worked like a charm.

_____________________________________________________________

Matthew Scalf
izoox - a soldier in the fight for a pain free web.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:54 am 
Offline
Forum User
Forum User

Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 4:05 pm
Posts: 9
Location: TN
Hi Matthew,

Would you be willing to make available the previous php versions you had already? I'm looking for an older version I can roll back to. The concensus is to create them from source but I am certain it will lead to disaster. PM me if you are willing to put them up so I can grab them.

TIA,
Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Building from source
Unread postPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:14 am 
Offline
Forum User
Forum User

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:02 pm
Posts: 43
Building from his source RPM's was actually quite easy.. just download them, and run rpmbuild --rebuild <filename>

Then once they are built go to the build dir and run rpm -Uvh <filename> --force

You can obviously replace filename with wildcards like *.art.rpm (or however they end). I'm pretty sure that was all I had to do...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:16 am 
Offline
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin
Atomicorp Staff - Site Admin

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Posts: 7943
Location: earth
heres another shortcut, use yum-builddep to automatically install all the dependencies you need to build it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:27 am 
Offline
Long Time Forum Regular
Long Time Forum Regular

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:30 am
Posts: 2812
Location: The Netherlands
If you don't have yum-builddep install the yum-utils package.

_________________
Lemonbit Internet Dedicated Server Management


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:37 pm 
Offline
Forum User
Forum User

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:21 pm
Posts: 6
Semi-relevant to the direction of this topic (although I apologize that it's a bit off the mark): I have a patch for PHP (http://php-fpm.anight.org/) that I would like to apply to the latest SRPM (php-5.2.5-4.art.src.rpm). I have downloaded the SRPM and php.spec, the patch, and used yum-builddep on the SRPM.

Could anyone walk me through what I might need to do to actually rebuild the package with the patch applied?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 108 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

» Feed - Atomicorp

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group