sorry, I thought I had posted a response to this ...
Thank you for your response Biggles. I agree with all your comments. I too have got additional business from pointing out things like this. I cannot this client of mine's domain as they need MS Exchange and my Linux server will not allow that.
My client's emails are coming through FastHosts who host their domain. I cannot see what is wrong with the Fasthosts server's REverse DNS.
mail.myclient.com resolves as follows:
Quote:
[plesk2.server.co.uk ~]# dig mx myclient.com
; <<>> DiG 9.3.6-P1-RedHat-9.3.6-4.P1.el5_5.3 <<>> mx myclient.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 11812
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 4
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;myclient.com. IN MX
;; ANSWER SECTION:
myclient.com. 43200 IN MX 5 mailserver.myclient.com.
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
myclient.com. 172800 IN NS ns2.livedns.co.uk.
myclient.com. 172800 IN NS ns3.livedns.co.uk.
myclient.com. 172800 IN NS ns1.livedns.co.uk.
;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
mailserver.myclient.com. 43200 IN A 213.171.216.66
ns1.livedns.co.uk. 7195 IN A 213.171.192.250
ns2.livedns.co.uk. 7195 IN A 213.171.193.250
ns3.livedns.co.uk. 7194 IN A 213.171.192.254
;; Query time: 16 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Tue Jan 18 10:43:50 2011
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 193
and if I look at the reverse DNS, there is one:
Quote:
213.171.216.66 PTR record: mail213-171-216-66.livemail.co.uk. [TTL 86400s] [A=213.171.216.66]
but Spamrats IP checker
http://www.spamrats.com/lookup.php?ip=213.171.216.66 says
Quote:
Does IP Address resolve to a reverse hostname... Passed!
Does IP Address comply with reverse hostname naming convention... Failed!
So, what is actually wrong with that Reverse DNS? Because Fast Hosts are refusing to do anything and what they are saying is totally wrong. The only way we can receive from our client is if they send through our smarthost smtp.smarthost.net and those get through to us fine.
Is there any way that we can force our server to bypass Spamrats somehow? I'm not sure where that is in the qmail-scanner settings. Or can I tell it to ignore checking that particular domain when it gets to Spamrats? I do have whitelist_from
*@myclient.com in my /etc/mail/spamassassin/local.cf file